Green polish…on my nails?!

*Purchased by Me

Hey everyone!

Apologies for the late post today, after church my bible study was cancelled, so I went out with my parents to purchase felt and cotton stuffing for the crafts I’ll be making for the online shop!

Anyways, I’ve been dying to post this mani I did but I had to wait till today to tie in with #SgSwatchFest! This is the first time I can finally participate, and I wanted to do a good one. The theme was Emerald– the Pantone colour of the year + May birthstone. I had some issues at first as I’m not a very green polish kind of girl(I’m more for mints, if that makes sense…), but then it hit me: I did not necessary need to have an emerald polish for this! Silly me.

On to the mani!

IMG_4061

 

I used The Face Shop Lovely Me:ex Nails GR504 (what a mouthful) on my nails, which I did a swatch of previously here.

I used 2 coats to have no VNL. The trick for Face Shop polishes is really a medium-thick layer to avoid streakiness!

IMG_4072 And then the bling started.

I had this idea to do the #SgSwatchFest theme centered around the gemstone itself. I finally broke out some bling and added them to my nail!

*Please note: the colours of the gemstones are actually more green/emerald in real life. My camera kept reflecting a more turquoise colour!

IMG_4067

I used 2mm square gemstones which were left over from my previous purchase of gemstones at Daiso. I needed them for my art project and used only the bigger ones!

I just applied a drop of top coat to my nail (I used Seche Vite) and then used tweezers to get the gemstones in place. This was actually the tough part, as my tweezers weren’t really helpful in picking up the gems, but I succeeded in the end!

IMG_4058a

You do not need to worry about quickly placing the gems…if the top coat dries, simply add another drop! I did these at my own pace.

I was also happy that I was able to nicely fit 4 of the gems onto my ring finger. My nails were recently trimmed so I was pleased to discover that my entire nail measured 8mm in length. Haha! 😀

I did not add another top coat to seal in the entire mani as this was only temporary, so unfortunately no wear time test. I really love GR504 blinged up- I think I’ll have to always wear it this way! Also, after this successful mani, I had the urge to

images

 

Yup. However, I resisted. I’ll probably do more blinging next time when I’m more sure of how to reuse the gemstones, as when I removed them, the cotton wool from the cotton squares were kind of stuck onto them, and I didn’t really know how to get it off. Any experienced person in 3D nail art can give me advice on removal of gemstones?

As I love this mani so much, I leave you with one last photo.

 

 

IMG_4059

 

I’ve never been a very green polish girl, but this mani makes me happy. It’s impractical, but I think it’s really good for those one-off occasions!

 

♥, xinyu

Leave a Reply

