Trick Or Treat! It’s Halloween Guest Post Week!|Guest post by Craftynail

Hey everyone, TGIF! Today’s Halloween Guest Post Week is brought to you by Jacqui of Craftynail. Jacqui has always been really supportive of our young blog, and I was so glad that she was joining us for this guest post week! Without further ado…on to the manicure!! ~ 😀

ShabbyBlogsDividerE

Hi there! My name is Jacqui and I run a U.S. nail blog called Craftynail. I am having a blast with nail art this halloween season so I’m thrilled to share my latest spooky manicure on Lacquered by BlueVanilla! Ironically, the idea for this manicure was dreamt up months ago while I was trying my first-ever sugar spun manicure. Have you ever heard of the sugar spun technique? You basically plop some nail polish down onto a hard surface (I use a an old CD case) and you swirl the polish around with a toothpick until it dries up and gets stringy. Then you lay the strings over your nails for decoration. Here’s a great tutorial by Kat Stays Polished if you’d like to see how it’s done. So when I tried sugar spun that day the lightbulb went off- if I use white nail polish it could look like a mummy head! Well that eureka came to me in April so I’ve been carrying the mummy idea in my back pocket for months! hahaha So without further ado, here are my sugar spun mummy nails!

craftynail sugar spun mummies Not only are the mummy heads kinda cute, but the orange polish I’m wearing on the other fingers is just perfect for Halloween! It’s an indie polish made by Polish Alcoholic called Veni Vidi Vici. I just love it and want to wear it as many times as possible this season! As for my mummy fingers, I started with one coat of a nude lacquer called Yummy Mummy by Butter London. I couldn’t resist using that one hehe. 🙂 Then I did white sugar spun over top to create that mummy-wrapped look. The white polish I used was NYC Nail Enamel in French White Tip and it worked perfectly. So nice and stringy! The eyes were dotted on with random black, red and white polishes that I had laying around. I like that they’re leering sideways at my pinky finger. They look very suspicious of that poor pinky for some reason! LOL. So what do you think of my mummy nails? Let me know if you try them too- I’d love to see!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope you all have a happy and safe halloween with lots of treats, preferably chocolates! buahahaa! Feel free to visit me on my blog craftynail.com, facebook, twitter or pinterest if you want to see more halloween nails! See you online!

-Jacqui aka Craftynail

ShabbyBlogsDividerE

Wow I am simply in love with this nail art! I’ve never tried the sugar spun technique before and I love how yours came out!! ❤ Also, I need to save up money to purchase some polishes from Polish Alcoholic! 😀

signatureblogwithheart

4 thoughts on “Trick Or Treat! It’s Halloween Guest Post Week!|Guest post by Craftynail

  1. I thought I liked spun sugar nails, but this mummy is the awesomest spun sugar design I’ve seen to date.
    I haven’t tried my hand at this myself, cause I don’t think I’d be able to execute it, but I love your mummies! : )

  2. Pingback: Sugar Spun Mummies: my guest post! | Craftynail

Leave a Reply

