Trick or Treat! It’s Halloween Guest Post Week!|Guest Post by Brijit’s Digits

Hey lovelies! Hope you’ve been enjoying these eleven days so far! We’re nearing the end…but there’s still 3 more days to go so keep coming back! 😀 Today’s post comes from Brijit of Brijit’s Digits– she’s amongst the first few blogs I’ve followed when we first started out on WordPress and I look forward to her nail posts. (: So let’s see what she has created for us today!

ShabbyBlogsDividerE

Hi there!

I’m very flattered to have been asked by Xin Yu to do a guest post for Lacquered By Blue Vanilla‘s Hallowe’En series! My favourite part about blogging is definitely the lovely people that it puts me in contact with. (Yep, even more than buying tonnes of nail polish “for the blog”!)

For those of you who don’t know me, I blog over at Brijits Digits, and I’m an English girl living in France. So, I grew up celebrating Hallowe’En, getting dressed up, going trick-or-treating, and now I live in a country where it isn’t really celebrated. Which makes me kinda sad, since it was always my favourite occasion!

Models Own Zest a Peal-002

Though I don’t go around dressed up any more (and I’m a little old for trick-or-treating now…), I do still make a Jack O’Lantern for the occasion 🙂 these carved pumpkins do tend to go soggy after a few days, so I usually do it the day before the 31st, and light it at night (outside, on the patio) to keep us safe for the nights when the veil between our world and the next is thin. Okay, so no, I’m not all spiritual about it… But it looks pretty, haha! So naturally, a pumpkin lantern was the inspiration for this post!

The base colour that I used is Models Own Zest a Peal, an acidic, shimmery orange. It’s pretty sheer, so I used 4 coats! Still, it dried quite quickly, and I think it’s the perfect colour…

Models Own Zest a Peal

The detail is just sketched on using my trusty Barry M Nail Art Pen in black. I let the orange polish dry really well before applying, so was able to play around a bit and wipe it off again to get it just right 🙂

I used a bit of empty space around the edges of the index (pointer) and little (pinkie) finger, to get a rounded feel to my pumpkin. Then I added some curved lines going up and down, as pumpkins aren’t exactly smooth and round! And of course, the happy little not-so-scary face!

Models Own Zest a Peal-001

So what do you think? I’d love to hear about how everyone else celebrates (or doesn’t) Hallowe’En!

Of course, a big thank you to Xin Yu ❤ for inviting me along to guest post. I’ve been following for a while and love seeing Lacquered By Blue Vanilla‘s nail art!

ShabbyBlogsDividerE

 

Thanks so much Brijit! I love this manicure and the pumpkin looks really adorable- it makes me smile! (: I’ve never celebrated Halloween before, as most Singaporeans don’t seem to have this custom…but I feel like dressing up this year and the next! 😀

signatureblogwithheart

4 thoughts on “Trick or Treat! It’s Halloween Guest Post Week!|Guest Post by Brijit’s Digits

  1. I love this mani so much. The orange is perfect and I love how the pinkie and your index have some empty space to make for a round pumpkin!!!
    I’ve never celebrated, but since I’m stuck at home in London since I broke my foot, I’m soooo excited for trick or treaters : D
    Oooooh, the veil… : P

      • It really is fun to see all those cute little kids come knocking at your door. I used to live in a different city in an apartment building, and kids love buildings like those since they can knock on multiple doors very quickly. More candy, less time spent! Now that I live in the country, I don’t have to even bother buying candy. No one comes to my house ! It’s good and bad, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

