Trick or Treat! It’s Halloween Guest Post Week!|Guest post by Will Paint Nails For Food

Hey lovelies! We’ve come to the end of the eleven days of Halloween Guest Post Week- hope you’ve enjoyed yourselves! (: Today’s guest post comes from Meghan of Will Paint Nails For Food- she’s without doubt one of my favourite bloggers due to her impeccable nail art, and I was so excited when she agreed to guest post for us! 😀 So let’s see what she has created~

ShabbyBlogsDividerE

 

The Gashlycrumb Tinies

When Xin Yu and Bethanie originally contacted me to do a guest blog post on the theme of Halloween, I’ll admit that I was initially hesitant. See, I’m not really into Halloween nail art, in fact I didn’t do a single Halloween design last year. But I accepted the invitation as a challenge to try my hand at some spooky designs, so I hope you like what I came up with!

Gashlycrumb-Tinies-Nail-Art-3

My inspiration came from the 1963 book The Gashlycrumb Tinies by Edward Gorey. It’s a small little book about a group of children who are killed off in unfortunate ways. If you are not familiar with the book you can check it out here.

Gashlycrumb-Tinies-Nail-Art-2

The combination of the innocent children, the rather morbid humour, as well as the writing itself (the whole book rhymes), makes it the perfect Halloween source. I took the imagery from the cover, which shows the Grim Reaper with a group of children, and the back cover, which shows a group of tombstones.

Gashlycrumb-Tinies-Nail-Art-4

I used only two polishes – Orly Liquid Vinyl for the black, and OPI My Boyfriend Scales Walls for the white. I worked slowly with a tiny brush to try to get as much detail as possible. I also like to use nail polish thinner (not remover!), which makes the polish easier to paint with, and it also allows for lighter washes.

Gashlycrumb-Tinies-Nail-Art-1

I hope you like this design as much as I do. And thanks to Xin Yu and Bethanie for inviting me to do a guest post on their blog!

-Meghan, Will Paint Nails for Food

ShabbyBlogsDividerE

 

Thanks so much Meghan! I love your nail art and am intrigued by the book! It’s really fascinating…and a rather spooky way to start off Halloween, I may say!

Have a happy Halloween, everyone! (:

signatureblogwithheart

3 thoughts on “Trick or Treat! It’s Halloween Guest Post Week!|Guest post by Will Paint Nails For Food

Leave a Reply

