Pool Side Party Contest☀

*Purchased By Me

Hey everyone! Yes, two posts in a row from me today cause I’ve just finished up my manicure for the Pool Side Party Contest hosted by Luchessa and Polish Alcoholic! After getting my polishes from Shoppe Eclecticco yesterday, I instantly got down to creating some lovely nail art (:

So I had the idea to do swimming pool nails, as in the reflection of the water on my nails! I was inspired by two photos seen on Google, here and here. (Wow that’s a lot of permalinks for one post!) I also had an idea in my brain to do a palm tree silhouette…so without further ado, here’s my entry (:

P1000219

I used Lacquer Lust Sky’s The Limit, a beautiful baby blue linear holographic polish(although on me the polish was closer to China Glaze For Audrey, more teal). I used 3 coats as I dented my index and middle finger :/ I would like to add that VNL was still visible at 3 coats, under strong lighting.

P1000222

The holographic shimmer in Sky’s The Limit really reminded me of a swimming pool glinting in the sunlight, so that’s was the reason for my choice in using this polish (: I then used a white Uniball Signo gel pen to imitate the reflections on the water for my nails.

P1000225

My accent nail was done using O.P.I Jinx as a sort of ‘sunset scene’ due to the lovely orange-coral + gold glitter it has, and applied O.P.I Solitaire roughly halfway up the nail in a sort of gradient to imitate sparkling sands. I then drew a palm tree silhouette using a black 0.38 Uniball Signo gel pen.

P1000227

I also did my thumb, which is very rare when I’m doing a temporary mani! (⌒▽⌒)☆

This was inspired by the photo with Frangipanis(or other known as Plumeria) floating on the water. I drew the base flower using my black and white Uniball Signo pens, and added in some fuschia colour for the middle of the flower. I then topped it off using a 3D fimo egg flower which I purchased previously from T-mart. (:

P1000226

Although rather simple, this is what I would wear for a Pool Side Party/relaxing at the pool! (: It’s both calm and serene which is how relaxing by the pool(and submerged in water) makes me. ^^

P.S: you may have noticed that the watermark has changed! I’m still experimenting with different fonts at this point, and trying to get the hang on the curved watermark for nail photos, so bear with me please! 😀

♥, xinyu

4 thoughts on “Pool Side Party Contest☀

Leave a comment